FREEMAN HOUSE

Modified on Tue, 04 Sep 2018 10:25 by Con — Categorized as: Buildings And Places, Topic

FREEMAN HOUSE


Freeman House is the name given to the Principal’s residence in Claremont Avenue.

The re-development of Freeman House was funded by a bequest from the estate of Arthur William Freeman (1907-1979), a student of the College from 1918 to 1923.

In the 'Principal's Newsletter' of Term 3 1997, the Principal, Dr Turner reported: 'Work has begun on a new Principal's residence on the College block in Claremont Avenue. As you know, Davey House, which was built in 1968 for Dr Peter Thwaites and his family, had been the home of successive Principals until its recent conversion into administrative office accommodation. The new residence has been designed by the College architects, McGlashan and Everist, and its construction will be funded from the bequeathed estate of Mrs Hilda Lilian Freeman, the widow of Arthur W Freeman who attended the College from 1918 to 1923. To honour the family name, the residence will be known as 'Freeman House'.

The Principal, Dr Turner, commented on the completion of the new Principal's residence, 'Freeman House' in December 1997. In Term 2 of 1998, Dr Turner noted having taken up residence and that landscaping and finishing touches will be completed shortly.


Sources: Pegasus 1997 p2; Principal's Residence Term 3, 1997 p6; Principal's Newsletter Term 4, 1997 p4; Principal's Newsletter Term 1, 1998 p8; Principal's Newsletter Term 2, 1998 p6.